

Tenpin Bowling New Zealand Inc. www.tbnz.co.nz

National Tournament Managers Report 2017 Annual General Meeting

This weekend sees the 13th running of the TBNZ Open National Championships being held at the Tenpin Tauranga, who has hosted previously in 2005, 2008 and 2012. This year there will be 121 athletes taking part, making up 433 entries in all which is up 13% from last year. We also welcome the return of the two time Men's Open Champion, Sonny Reguerra hoping to defend his NZ title. Unfortunately defending Ladies Open & the Graded Champion, Sarah Young & Lance Barns respectively are not in attendance, but I'm sure that someone will step up to take over their mantle. Good Luck to all competitors competing this weekend.

The 2016 Junior/Youth Nationals & NYTC tournaments were held at Pins Lincoln last October, with over 50 bowlers taking part in the Nationals. Winners were Sam Kidd in the Junior Boys, Dayna Haylock in the Junior Girls, Seth Rota Taylor in the Junior Graded Division, Blake Brooks added another one to his already four titles in the Youth Boys and Dayna Haylock made it title number three in four years in the Youth Girls. In the newly introduced Division of the Junior Bantams, Paris Speers held off all challengers to win the title.

The National Youth Teams Championships saw 9 teams take part, with Kapiti, Canterbury, Counties/Manukau, Westgate, North City, Wellington, a Youth Invitational team, and hosts Waitakere's Rangers & Waitakere Sparks. After 3 days of intense competition, the Rangers came out on top from the Sparks team in second, with Wellington back in third. The introduction of a challenge trophy proved to be worthwhile addition. This was successfully obtained by the Youth Invitational team in the final game, after nearly all the teams had won it at some stage. This will be back up for grabs at this year's event at North City Tenpin. Westgate won the inaugural Restricted Cup title, which was run alongside the NYTC and included handicaps.

The fifth running of the National Senior Teams Championships were hosted by Strike Lower Hutt in 2016. The first time a National Championship of any kind was held in the Lower Hutt or Petone area, since the Youth Championships in 1998. Manukau were victorious for the overall crown after the completion of the 3-day event, which included Singles, Doubles, and Teams. With defending champions Wellington and Tauranga Black coming in second & third respectively. Wellington won the overall in the Men's Division from Tauranga Black and then Manukau. In the Ladies, Manukau dominated from Lower Hutt City and North City Zephyrs in third place.

Kapiti hosted the Senior Nationals over ANZAC weekend this year, with over 80 bowlers taking part. Tim Swain won the Open Men's title and Jho Balanay taking out the Open Ladies' crown, both becoming first time champions. The Graded Divisions were won by two South Island bowlers Michael Burt of Nelson in the Men's and Barbara Hawkins of Dunedin winning the Ladies. The Grand Senior titles were won by four time champion Phil Wright in the Men's, with Sandy Hoare also defending her crown in the Ladies.

The National Teams Championships were held at Strike Lower Hutt over Easter weekend, with only 12 teams taking part this year. Unfortunately, this was down from the previous two tournaments, but it did allow a slight change of format to ensure that every team played each other at least once. Masterton or the Wairarapa team made their debut this year and they are looking at expanding into other TBNZ team events as well.

Both the Championship and Plate titles went down to the wire, with it all being decided on the final afternoon of the tournament. The Championship crown was won by Waitakere Karekare holding off two time defending champions Counties Comets in second and North City Lightning back in third. The Plate title was won for the second year in a row by the Youth team from Waitakere Piha, followed by Wellington and Rotorua Rebels back in third. The goal next year will be to get back up to at least 16 teams, if not more.

In looking forward to next year, the 2018 TBNZ calendar is as follows:

Open Nationals - SuperStrike Manukau - June 1-4.

Senior Nationals – Pins Lincoln – May 3-6.

National Teams Championships – Tenpin Tauranga – March 29-April 1.

Junior/Youth Nationals & Youth Teams Championships – SuperStrike Hastings – October 1-6.

Senior Teams Championships – North City Tenpin – September 7-9.

I would like to personally thank all of the Management Team for all their support over the past year. Finally, thank you to the bowlers and proprietors of NZ for their ongoing support of our tournaments, as well as the promotion of your own events. Across the board over the past 12 months all tournaments, both TBNZ and centre based entries were up by 12%. Congratulations to all.

As we look towards the future of our great sport, it is without doubt the investment and development has to be put into our Junior and Youth bowlers. While the Adult and Senior grades do require support as well, looking after the 'grassroots' has to be a priority. However, all Divisions do have strong numbers at the moment especially in the Senior Men & Open Ladies. So, as we continue to grow and develop, our beloved sport does have a bright future.

Pete Richardson

National Tournament Manager May 28, 2017